The Ministry of Manpower confirmed the dates of public holidays for 2016. There will be six long weekends next year, just one down on seven that we had this year. Here’s the list published today.

1 January 2016 (Friday) – New Year’s Day*

8 & 9 February 2016 (Monday & Tuesday) – Chinese New Year*

25 March 2016 (Friday) – Good Friday*

1 May 2016 (Sunday) – Labour Day*

21 May 2016 (Saturday) – Vesak Day

6 July 2016 (Wednesday) – Hari Raya Puasa

9 August 2016 (Tuesday) – National Day

12 September 2016 (Monday) – Hari Raya Haji*

29 October 2016 (Saturday) – Deepavali

25 December 2016 (Sunday) – Christmas Day*

So it’s time to get going planning for a short holiday next year. Here’s two suggestions for wonderful places to visit in 2016.

1) Tokyo, Japan

Skyscrapers_of_Shinjuku_2009_January_(revised)

They’re preparing for the 2020 Summer Olympics and more than 10 million visitors travel to Japan each year. The Japanese currency has also fallen much and visiting Japan now could potentially be a good deal.

2) Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Copacabana-beach-Rio-de-Janeiro-Brazil

There’s probably no better time to visit Brazil than 2016 as it hosts the 2016 Olympic Games. The city has been cleaned up much, especially after the 2014 World Cup. So if you haven’t been there before, maybe you should now. Going to be an experience you won’t forget quickly.

Image from layoverguide.com